Drinks · summer

Summer Party Beverages

Summer is here and I couldn’t be happier! What better way to host a party than with a large batch of sangria?! This weekend we’re celebrating my sisters Graduation, and having all of our family and friends over. She’s a fanatic of red wine, so I decided to make the perfect summer sangria! I myself am a huge fan of sangria because its so versatile – you can add in any fruits that you like!

In this post, I’ll also be sharing an infused water recipe! It’s my favourite, and the perfect refresher for a hot summer day. Check out both of the simple recipes below 🙂

Here’s What You’ll  Need: 

Sparkling Summer Sangria: 
– 1 bottle red wine
– 1-2 cups orange juice
– 1/2 cup cognac
– 1 orange, sliced
– 1/2 lime, sliced
– 1 1/2 cups sliced strawberries
– 1 cup raspberries
– start fruit – decorative
– 1 bottle Asti

Watermelon-Mint Infused Water:
– 2 cups cubed watermelon
– 15-20 sprigs of fresh mint
– water and ice


*First let’s start with the sangria!!

1.On a cutting board, thinly slice and dice the orange, lime, strawberries and star fruit. My mom found this cool looking punch set in our basement that she got years ago! I thought it would be perfect for people to grab the soaked fruit out of.

FullSizeRender-1FullSizeRenderFullSizeRender-2


2.Carefully assemble the fruit inside your bowl/pitcher. I saved a small portion to add in right before serving. Add in the cognac and orange juice.

Select a wine of your choice. My dad is the wine connoisseur of our house, so he picked out a cabernet for me. Now for the fun part…pour the entire bottle all over the fruit!

IMG_5841IMG_5842IMG_5843IMG_5844IMG_5851

They key to a good sangria is refrigeration! Allow the beverage to soak in the fridge for a few hours. Typically, the longer the better as this will allow the fruit to absorb that great taste.

3. Add in the bubbly right before serving to give it that awesome touch! Enjoy 🙂

FullSizeRender-3FullSizeRender-5IMG_5909


Watermelon-Mint Infused Water 

Now its time for the infused water! I absolutely love mint. My parents have a small herb garden in our backyard where we grow our own mint. Its so fresh, and it smells phenomenal!

On a cutting board, dice and cube the watermelon. Rinse about 15-20 sprigs of mint. Assemble the melon and mint in the container and fill with water and ice. This water tastes perfect after sitting for at least 2-3 hours. Again, the longer the better! It’s my favourite thing to have on a hot summer day. The mint also acts as a great digestive… Enjoy 🙂

IMG_5852FullSizeRender-6IMG_5854IMG_5857IMG_5858IMG_5861

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram ðŸ™‚ 

Happy Fathers Day to all the great dads out there! ❤ 

Leave a Reply

